Greensboro's African American Community Newspaper
Reach Us At: (336) 274-6210 or (336) 274-7829
Greensboro weather

Friday, June 14, 2024

Fayetteville State Women Claim First Ever Title, Va. State and St. Aug Share Men’s Crown

Staff reports / February 20, 2020

Shivnarine Smalling (2nd from left) of St. Augustine’s College won his heat in the men’s 60m dash with a time of 6.79 seconds. Joe Daniels/Carolina Peacemaker

Christina Adlam of Va. State finished third to win a bronze medal in the long jump leaping 18-feet-04 inches. Photo by Joe Daniels/Carolina Peacemaker

WINSTON-SALEM – Fayetteville State claimed the women’s crown while Saint Augustine’s and Virginia State shared the men’s title at the CIAA Indoor Track & Field Championships at JDL Fast Track on Monday (Feb. 17).

The women’s title is the first for Fayetteville State (123 points) in its second year of existence as a university-sponsored track and field program. Saint Augustine’s captured its 23rd straight men’s championship and Virginia State won its second men’s title. Both Saint Augustine’s and Virginia State tied for the CIAA men’s championship for the second time in three years.

The Saint Augustine’s and Virginia State men both scored 163 points to outdistance Virginia Union, which placed third with 65 points. Virginia State held a huge lead early but Saint Augustine’s pulled within 158-153 entering the meet’s final event – the 4×400 relay.

The men’s battle ended in a tie after Saint Augustine’s placed first and Virginia State finished fourth in the 4×400 relay. Saint Augustine’s is the nation’s top-ranked Division II 4×400 relay team.

Virginia State swept the CIAA individual track awards. Sukeil Foucha was named men’s MVP and Kyla Frank was the women’s MVP. In the field events, Jalen Fykes of Livingstone was the men’s MVP and Alisha St. Louis of Johnson C. Smith and Shania Ingram of Fayetteville State were the co-women’s MVP winners.

Inez Turner of Fayetteville State was chosen CIAA Women’s Coach of the Year. George Williams of Saint Augustine’s and Wilbert Johnson of Virginia State were named CIAA Men’s Co-Coaches of the Year.

The women’s winners Monday were Shania Ingram of Fayetteville State (Pentathlon), Jaria Hoyte of Saint Augustine’s (400 Meters), St. Louis of Johnson C. Smith (Triple Jump), Samaria Chance of Livingstone (Shot Put), Jerinique Brooks of Fayetteville State (60 Meters, 200 Meters), Alandina Hyppolite of Virginia State (800 Meters), Danielle Scantlebury of Saint Augustine’s (60 Meter Hurdles), Kyla Frank of Virginia State (3,000 Meters) and the Saint Augustine’s foursome of Hoyte, Scantlebury, Davia Smith, Shannon Kalawan (4×400 Meter Relay).

The men’s winners Monday were Jahvante Marcelle of Virginia State (Heptathlon), Teahrian Tyler of Virginia Union (Triple Jump), Kenny Fuentez of Bowie State (Shot Put), Fykes of Livingstone (High Jump), Brandon Parris of Saint Augustine’s (400 Meters), Shivnarine Smalling of Saint Augustine’s (60 Meters), Foucha of Virginia State (800 Meters), Quincy Watts of Virginia State (60 Meter Hurdles), Kurt Modeste of Saint Augustine’s (200 Meters), Baron Freeman of Saint Augustine’s (5,000 Meters) and the Saint Augustine’s quartet of Jalen Jones, Phillip Marcelle, Modeste, Parris (4×400 Meter Relay).


Latest Headlines


Since 1967, the Carolina Peacemaker has served as North Carolina’s leading news weekly with a national reputation. Founded by Dr. John Kilimanjaro, the newspaper is published by Carolina Newspaper, Inc.

Advertise With Us  |  Contact Us  |  Follow Us On Twitter